The John G. FitzGerald CACMID award recognizes Canadian Microbiologists that have significantly advanced the field of medical microbiology through their contributions to clinical, academic, and/or educational pillars.

This prestigious honour is awarded each year at the annual CACMID meeting.  The award includes a monetary value of $1000, a lifetime honorary membership in CACMID, and a commemorative plaque. The recipient will be invited to the annual CACMID meeting to receive the award. Travel and accommodation expenses of the recipient will be reimbursed by CACMID.

Nominations may be submitted at anytime prior to the deadline, preceding the annual meeting, by CACMID members.  The CACMID board will review the applications and announce the winner at the Awards Ceremony at the annual meeting.  Applications must include:

  1. A nomination form (available from
  2. A current CV from the nominee (including contact details and list of publications from their entire career)
  3. A support letter describing their most outstanding and impactful contributions to medical or clinical microbiology (3 pages maximum)

This award is named after Dr. John FitzGerald, a pioneer in the field of Medical Microbiology in Canada. Dr. FitzGerald was born in Drayton, Ontario in 1882. After graduating medical school at the University of Toronto, he studied at the Pasteur Institute in Paris and Brussels. He soon returned to Canada where in 1914, Dr. FitzGerald founded Connaught Laboratories in partnership with the University of Toronto. It was at Connaught Laboratories that Dr. FitzGerald manufactured Canada’s first safe and effective rabies vaccine and diphtheria anti-toxin. Dr. FitzGerald is also regarded as one of the founding fathers of the Laboratory Section meetings of the Canadian Public Health Association that ultimately became the CACMID annual meeting.

It is to Dr. FitzGerald’s extraordinary contributions to Medical Microbiology in Canada that this award is dedicated.

Past Awardees:

2012 – Dr. Judith Isaac-Renton

2013 – Dr. Donald Low

2014 – Dr. Mark Wainberg

Nominations are Due January 31, 2015.

Nomination Form – 2015 (PDF Download; 930 KB)