Canadian Association for Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases

2013 Annual Conference – Award Winners (Photos)

CACMID – John G. Fitzgerald Outstanding Microbiologist Award:

Donald Low, Accepted by Tony Mazzulli

CCM Distinguished Microbiologist Award:

Gregory Tyrrell

AMMI Canada / Pfizer Post Residency Fellowship Award:

Émilie Vallières

Dr. Lindsay E. Nicolle Editorial Award:

Douglas Coyle, Accepted by Nicole Le Saux

CJIDMM Trainee Review Article Award:

Kristin Popiel


AMMI Canada Distinguished Service Award:

Gilles Delage

AMMI Canada Lifetime Achievement Award:

Anthony Chow

AMMI Canada Poster Award:

Ahmed Ghaly

#SP28: “Development of Urinary Tract Infection (UTI) Prediction Rules Based on an Automated Urine Chemistry Analyzer and a Flow Cytometric Urine Cell Analyzer”

AMMI Canada – CACMID Poster Award:

Guillaume Poloquin

#SP16: “Isolation of Vancomycin Heteroresistant Staphylococcus Capitis in a Canadian Neonatal Intensive Care Unit”


CACMID Poster Award:

Tracie EisBrenner

#SP38: “The Mars Pilot Project: Using Laboratory Data to Estimate the Performance of National Measles and Rubella Surveillance”

CACMID Poster Award:

Manal Tadros

#SP24: “Recurrent Genital Chlamydial Infections: A Novel Method for Typing and Molecular Detection of Azithromycin Resistance”


CCM Poster Award:

Nathan Zelyas

#SP27: “Evaluation of Different Commercial Agar Media for the Detection of Shige Toxin-Producing Escherichia Coli and the Use of Molecular Typing to Rapidly Identify Serotypes”

CCM 2013 Dr. Kenneth Rozee Memorial Poster Award:

Christopher Lowe

#SP08: “Transmission of Brucella Melitensis to a Healthcare Worker Outside of the Microbiology Laboratory”

2013 CFID Summer Student Research Awards:

1)    Mohamad Rabbani

2)    Zach Liang

3)    Tara Riddell

2013 Dr. Juan A. Embil Award for Excellence in Infectious Diseases Research

Leyla Asadi

2013 Dr. John M. Embil Mentorship Award in Infectious Diseases

Anne McCarthy